Types of Neonatal Units

Types of Neonatal Units

There are three types of units:

SCU - Special Care Unit

These units provide high dependency services and in addition they provide a stabilisation facility for babies who are to be transferred and for babies received from other units for continuing special care.

LNU - Local Neonatal Units

These units provide neonatal care for babies in their area except for the sickest babies.  They provide all categories of neonatal care but will transfer babies who require complex or long term intensive care to a Neonatal Intensive Care Unit as they are not staffed to provide long term intensive care.  Local units may receive babies from other neonatal services in the Network if they fall within their agreed work pattern.

NICU - Neonatal Intensive Care Units

The units are sited alongside specialist obstetric and feto-maternal medicine services to provide a wide range of medical neonatal care.  This includes additional care for babies and their families referred from the Network.  Many units also provide neonatal surgery services and other more specialised treatment.  Within a Network at least one hospital will have a neonatal intensive care unit which provides a specialist centre of expertise and experience for the sickest babies.